Iowa Architectural Foundation announces new board officers, annual awards

Iowa Architectural Foundation

The Iowa Architectural Foundation’s Board of Trustees elected its 2023 officers at its December board meeting. The foundation is governed by a statewide Board of Trustees.

Nathan Griffith

Nathan Griffith, Associate Principal of Neumann Monson Architects in Iowa City, will serve a one-year term as chair of the organization focused on educating the public on understanding and appreciating architecture. 

Mr. Griffith received the AIA‘s Young Architect Award, a national honor, in 2022. 

“Seeing all that the Iowa Architectural Foundation has accomplished under the challenging circumstances of the last few years, I’m excited to help lead IAF into a future of revitalized, enriching programs for Iowans of all ages,” Mr. Griffith said in a news release.

He steps into the position most recently held by Brian Crichton, AIA, CEO of CMBA, who will continue to serve on the board as Past Chair. Mr. Griffith and Mr. Crichton will work alongside three officers on the 2023 Executive Committee:

  • Vice Chair: Ryan Ellsworth, AIA, Estes Construction, Des Moines 
  • Secretary: Diane Rasmussen, Pigott, Des Moines
  • Treasurer: John Schmacker, Des Moines

The IAF also announced its 2022 Volunteer of the Year and Firm of the Year award recipients on Dec. 21. Lauren Stokes of RDG Planning & Design in Des Moines received the New Volunteer of the Year award. 

Ms. Stokes assisted with IAF’s walking tours, served on multiple committees and donated graphic design services over the past year. She will begin a term as board trustee in 2023. 

RDG Principal Jack Patton said the company could not be prouder of Ms. Stokes.

“That is fantastic,” Mr. Patton said in a news release. “She will undoubtedly excel in her service as a member of the IAF Board of Trustees.”

Tom Wollan, Principal Architect FRK Architecture + Design in Des Moines, received the 2022 Volunteer of the Year award for his invaluable service to the foundation over nearly two decades. Mr. Wollan led several walking tours for students and adults, served as committee chair and board trustee, taught various classes and trained volunteer guides.

IAF’s Firm of the Year award went to Neumann Monson Architects, which has locations in Iowa City and Des Moines. The firm earned the award for its outstanding volunteer representation across nearly every 2022 IAF program, board trustee service from its two offices, consistent financial support in the form of annual sponsorships and shared commitment to IAF’s educational mission.