2023’s Most Influential Leaders

The CBJ’s Most Influential list recognizes the people who have made the biggest mark on the Corridor within the past year, whether through their leadership, business accomplishments or philanthropic efforts. The CBJ asked readers in October to cast their votes for the Corridor’s most influential business leaders, and then tallied those votes to build our final list of the top 25.

  1. James Klein – President, Cedar Rapids Bank & Trust
  2. Nick AbouAssaly – Mayor, City of Marion
  3. Tiffany O’Donnell – Mayor, City of Cedar Rapids
  4. Jeff Pomeranz – City Manager, City of Cedar Rapids
  5. Ryan Waller – City Manager, City of Marion
  6. Jason Smith – Chief Executive Officer, TrueNorth
  7. Doug Neumann – Executive Director, Cedar Rapids Metro Economic Alliance
  8. Lisa Bluder – Head Coach, Women’s Basketball, University of Iowa
  9. Marty Lenss – Airport Director, Eastern Iowa Airport
  10. Abby Ochs – Chief Executive Officer, Gró Consulting, ZenLord Pro
  11. Caitlin Clark – Student, University of Iowa Tippie College of Business
  12. Lura McBride – President & Chief Executive Officer, Van Meter
  13. Willie Ray Fairley – Owner, Willie Ray’s Q Shack
  14. Nancy Bird – Chief Executive Officer, Greater Iowa City Inc.
  15. Nate Kaeding – Entrepreneur, Gold Cap, Build to Suit
  16. Duane Smith – Executive Chairman, TrueNorth
  17. Joe Ahmann – Owner, Ahmann Companies
  18. John Smith – Chairman, CRST International
  19. Kim Downs – Deputy City Manager, City of Marion
  20. Mike Gannon – Group President, CRST International
  21. Amy Reasner – Owner, Lynch Dallas, P.C.
  22. Evette Creighton – Director of Talent, Inclusion, and Diversity, Transamerica
  23. Hugh Ekberg – President & Chief Executive Officer, CRST International
  24. Josh Schamberger – President, Think Iowa City
  25. Okpara Rice – Chief Executive Officer, Tanager Place

James Klein named CBJ’s Most Influential for the second consecutive year